Gliding…Para Styles!

While on the most relaxing 7 day cruise I could have ever imagined I decided to throw in some adrenaline just to shake things up a bit. So when I was offered to do paragliding I was like not sure i would pay 75EUR to be tied to a boat 200m above the water. Although, when someone corrected me and said, no this is when you jump off a mountain and sail from about 2000m above sea level taking about 30mins…I said hell yes!

A group of 5 of us from my boat were quick (or some not so quick) to say yes to the offer. I was super pumped for the night before and the day as we climbed the 2000m in the back of a dodgy little ute that contained 4 of the jumping instructors and us 5 terrified accomplices.

To be honest from this point my ride was pretty quick, as soon as we got to the top I was pulled from the group and went to shake a mans hand that was wearing a red t-shirt. After the short informal hello he basically ordered me to run…and run i did. Within second I as whisked off the side of this concreted platform and throw a further 200m higher. From this point on I will say the ride was amazing, exhilarating, awesome and definitely something I wont forgtet. I will let photos prove it though…

Throughout the ride he was able to spin me around at approximately 3G’s which after repeating a couple of times made my stomach feel like a washing machine ready to eject my last meal. He was nice enough to stop the process to avoid a face full of semi-digested rice and salad…

Below was the view of the landing in ‘Blue Lagoon’ and as the following video suggests, these guys are pro, they made it look very easy and for that I am glad…

